Ways to serve

Parish Advisory Boards
Buildings & Grounds

St Cornelius Buildings & Grounds Committee

The St. Cornelius property comprises not only four major buildings – the Church, the Parish Life Center or PLC, the school, and the rectory – but includes substantial acreage with numerous lawns, gardens, woodlands, hardscape, and parking areas. Property maintenance is significant, and requires careful planning, budgeting, inspections, vendor relationships, and many other aspects.

In order to provide proper overview, perspective, and care of the property a Buildings & Grounds Committee (B&G) was established in late 2017. The Committee generally meets monthly to review any significant upcoming expenditures, to plan future expenditures, and to offer as much additional support possible to parish staff.

B&G Committee members serve a 3 year term and are selected for knowledge or expertise which may be helpful to the parish. Parishioners who have useful skills and would be willing to serve should make this known to one of the current B&G members.

Current members of the B&G Committee as of Spring 2019 are:

Msgr. David Diamond                                  Ron Tessing

David Talley                                                   Al Fonash

Andrew Cressman                                        Tom Burke

Pete Johnson                                                

Finance Council
The Parish Financial Council consists of a body of lay people established to advise the Pastor in matters pertaining to the financial affairs of the parish. The Council assists the Pastor in prudent planning and administration of all parish financial matters and in the setting of policy and establishing procedures to provide effective management of the parish assets. The council is composed of the Pastor and lay members of the parish who are knowledgeable and skilled in financial matters. Members are appointed by the pastor.
Pastoral Council

The Pastoral Council represents St. Cornelius parishioners and serves as a consultative body which advises and assists the Pastor in areas of pastoral concern, including the development and implementation of a parish pastoral plan through consensus and prayerful reflection. It fosters participation of the entire parish in the life and mission of the Church.

The Pastoral Council meets once a month from September through June or as announced. Elections/appointments are held annually in the spring. Members must be Catholics in good standing, registered and active parish members. Members are either elected or appointed and serve a three-year term.

The Pastoral Council carries out pastoral planning in collaboration and cooperation with the parish staff, committees, groups, and parishioners. As the pastor consults with the Council, so the Council itself consults with other parish leadership and parishioners in its planning processes. The Pastoral Council is rooted in prayer, open to the guidance of the Holy Spirit, committed to patient listening and study, and works to recommend the plans and directions that will enhance the quality of parish life and promote parish vitality.

2019 Pastoral Council Members

  • Lisa Daughen, Chairperson
  • Kathy Kosciewicz, Secretary
  • Agnes Argus
  • Kathy Carney
  • Franca Felcher
  • Kevin Hicks
  • Kevin Jones
  • Peter Kosciewicz
  • Len Leschinsky
  • Debbie Russo
  • Craig Sanders

                                    Ex Officio Members

  • Deacon Harry Morris
  • Deacon John Todor
  • Deacon Richard Wirth

Pastoral Council Candidates

2019 Parish Council Nominations

 Michael Brisgone                     Chris Fahey                     Scott Flanary

Jonathan Lippard                  Joanne Morris                      Dr. Alfred Mueller